Program World Junior Championships 2022

The United States will play in one of three games against Germany on Tuesday, the first day of the 2022 IIHF World Junior Championships in Edmonton.

The tournament will run from August 9-20, with all matches at Rogers Place.

Each game is broadcast on NHL Network in the United States and on TSN in Canada.

The tournament was originally scheduled for December 26-Jan. 5 in Edmonton and Red Deer, Alberta. After four days of play, the tournament was postponed on December 29 due to concerns about the corona virus.

Players who qualified for the elite under-20 international tournament in December remained eligible for the rescheduled tournament whether or not they turned 20. December match results and statistics do not count when the tournament starts.

The United States won the 2021 WJC, beating Canada in the championship game. The last team to win consecutive tournaments was Canada, which won five in a row from 2005-09.

Canada will play its first game in the preliminary round against Latvia on Wednesday.

Ten teams play in the WJC. The United States are in Group B for the preliminary round, along with Sweden, Germany, Switzerland and Austria. Group A consists of Canada, Finland, Czech Republic, Slovakia and Latvia.

Latvia was added to replace Russia, which has been banned from international competitions due to the invasion of Ukraine.

The top four teams in each group will advance to the quarter-finals, which will be held on August 17. The semi-finals are on August 19 and the championship and third place matches are on August 20.

There will be no relegation round, meaning the same 10 teams will play in the WJC 2023, which will be held from December 26 to January. 5, 2023 in Halifax, Nova Scotia and Moncton, New Brunswick.


August 9
Czech Republic vs. Slovakia, 2pm ET
Latvia vs. Finland, 6:00 PM ET
United States vs. Germany 22:00 ET

10 August
Sweden vs. Switzerland, 2 p.m. ET
Latvia vs. Canada, 6:00 PM ET
Germany vs. Austria, 22:00 ET

Aug 11
Finland vs. Czech Republic, 2 p.m. ET
Slovakia vs. Canada, 6:00 PM ET
Switzerland vs. United States, 10:00 PM ET

Aug 12
Austria vs. Sweden, 2 p.m. ET
Slovakia vs. Latvia, 6:00 PM ET

Aug 13
Austria vs. United States, 2 p.m. ET
canada vs. Czech Republic, 6:00 PM ET
Germany vs. Switzerland, 10pm ET

14 Aug
Finland vs. Slovakia, 2pm ET
Czech Republic vs. Latvia, 6:00 PM ET
United States vs. Sweden, 10pm ET

Aug 15
Switzerland vs. Austria, 2 p.m. ET
canada vs. Finland, 6:00 PM ET
Sweden vs. Germany, 10pm ET

Aug 17
Quarterfinals 1:00 PM ET
Quarterfinals 2, 3:30 p.m. ET
Quarterfinals 3pm, 7pm ET
Quarterfinals 4, 10:30 p.m. ET

19 Aug
Semifinals 1:00 PM ET
Semifinal 2, 8pm ET

Aug 20
Third place match, 4pm ET
Championship match, 8pm ET

Listen: New Episode of NHL Draft Class

Source link

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *